Newsletter is available only in Finnish.

Sorry, this entry is only available in suomi.

Sorry, this entry is only available in suomi.

The Dry Toilet 2009 Conference was organised by:

  • huussi_logo2-235x300Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland is a registered Finnish association founded in 2002 to promote the use of dry toilets. Our vision is to make dry toilets an essential part of sustainable development, thus securing clean waters and a healthy environment for future generations. Our mission is to introduce functioning dry toilets together with controlled management of toilet waste and to make people aware of the benefits of dry sanitation.
  • Tampere University of tutTechnology conducts scientific research in technology and architecture and provides the highest education within these fields. The University operates in close collaboration with business life and other facets of society and produces high-standard services within its range of tasks. TUT is the second largest university of technology in Finland, with a lively campus of 12 000 engineering and architecture students.
  • tamkTampere University of Applied Sciences is a multidisciplinary university with a strong industrial and trade focus. It offers Bachelor level degrees in Art and Media, Business Economics and Technology. Two Bachelor degree programmes are taught completely in English. There are 5000 students. In the annual ranking of the Centre of Economic Research Tampere Polytechnic each year ranks among the top polytechnics in Finland. The continually developing international co-operation supports maintaining the high standard of education and R&D activities.
  • university-of-tampere-logoUniversity of Tampere is multidisciplinary and committed to scientific research and to advanced teaching. The hallmark of the university is sound, diverse research and teaching focussed on society, its economy, administration and culture and on the health and welfare of individuals. Over 15 000 degree students study at the university.

Scientific Committee

Professor Tuula Tuhkanen, Tampere University of Technology (Convener and Chair)

  • Adjunct professor Tapio Katko, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
  • Ms Sanna-Leena Rautanen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
  • Dr Helvi Heinonen-Tanski, University of Kuopio, Finland
  • Adjunct Professor Petri Juuti, University of Tampere, Finland
  • Professor Ilari Karppi, University of Tampere, Finland
  • Dr Eeva-Liisa Viskari, TAMK University of Applied Sciences, Finland
  • Dr Harri Mattila, HAMK University of Applied Sciences, Finland
  • Dr Pekka Pietilä, Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland /Tampere University of Technology, Finland
  • Mr Erkki Santala, Finnish Environment Institute, Finland
  • Professor Tom Frisk, Pirkanmaa Environment Centre, Finland
  • Dr Andreas G. Koestler, Fontes Consulting, Norway
  • Dr Blanca Jiménez, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico
  • Dr Ing Joachim Behrendt, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
  • Dr Siméon Kenfack, Chargé de Recherche, CREPA, Burkina Faso
  • Dr Johannes Heeb, Seecon GmbH & International Ecological Engineering Society, Switzerland
  • Dr Aboua Gustave, University of Abobo-Adjamé, Ivory Coast
  • Mr Srinkantaiah Vishwanath, International Rainwater Catchment Systems Association, India
  • Professor Thor Axel Stenström, Swedish Institute for Infectious Disease Control, Sweden
  • Mr Heinz-Peter Mang, Centre for Sustainable Environmental Sanitation, China

Organising Committee

Dr Pekka Pietilä, Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland / Tampere University of Technology (chair)

  • Ms Tittiina Repka, Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland (secretary)
  • Ms Raini Kiukas, Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland
  • Ms Saila Kallioinen, Tampere University of Technology
  • Adjunct Professor Petri Juuti, Tampere University
  • Ms Krista Salonen, TAMK University of Applied Sciences
  • Ms Suvi Holm, City of Tampere
  • Dr Antero Luonsi, Pirkanmaa Environment Centre
  • Ms Satu Heino, Water Protection Association of the River Kokemäenjoki
  • Mr Henry Nygård
  • Mr Erkki Lydén, Employment and Economic Development Centre
  • Ms Anja Hakkarainen, TAVI Congress Centre